Paterson is on the path between Maitland, Hunter Valley and the Barrington Tops. A beautiful hamlet, Paterson offers guests bed and breakfast and pub style accommodation and various restaurant options.
Visitors are invited to take a walk around this historic village, browse at the historic buildings and enjoy the country hospitality of its traditional hotels. Others may choose to picnic or barbeque in the glorious park by Paterson River or scour the local shops, sure to tempt you with creative wares and delicious fare.
The Paterson Court House Museum displays many historical artefacts and resides within the original Paterson Court House built in 1857, with the buildings dominant feature being the beautifully arcaded porch with its three monumental arches.
The Rail Motor Society of Paterson presents a history of train transportation in the region; founded in 1984 the Society is based in the beautifully restored Station Master’s cottage.
Part of the original settlement of Paterson was Tocal, Tocal is approximately 15 minutes from the Maitland town centre and is home to the Tocal Agricultural College and the annual Tocal Field Days. Tocal Homestead and Visitors Centre can be visited on weekends and public holidays for a fascinating insight into the early days of rural life in the Hunter.
The Paterson area was once occupied by the Wanaruah Aboriginal people. First European settlement of Paterson was made by Colonel William Paterson, who, in 1801, surveyed the area beside the river only for Governor King to name the area in his honour. Paterson has a most intriguing history including being the township where the infamous bushranger, Captain Thunderbolt’s wife was convicted for vagrancy in 1866 after Captain Thunderbolt had worked on the “Tocal” property and returned in 1856 to steal horses.